

ESCAMPIG 2024

9-13 JULY 2024, BRNO, CZECH REPUBLIC

The ESCAMPIG (Europhysics Conference on Atomic and Molecular Physics of Ionized Gases) is an international biennial conference of the EPS (European Physical Society). The conference topics comprise basic and applied plasma research. 26th ESCAMPIG will be organized by the Department of Plasma Physics and Technology of Masaryk University (MUNI) in cooperation with the CEPLANT and the Union of Czech Mathematicians and Physicists.

The conference includes plenary invited general and topical lectures, poster sessions and workshops. Some contributed papers covering relevant issues will be selected by the International Scientific Committee and authors will be asked to give a short (hot-topic) oral presentation.

CONFERENCE TOPICS

- Atomic and molecular processes in plasmas
- Transport phenomena, particle velocity distribution function
- Physical basis of plasma chemistry
- Plasma surface interaction (boundary layers, sheath, surface processes)
- Plasma diagnostics
- Plasma and discharges theory and simulation
- Self-organization in plasmas, dusty plasmas
- Upper atmospheric plasmas and space plasmas
- Low pressure plasma sources
- High pressure plasma sources
- Plasmas and gas flows
- Laser produced plasmas

WILLIAM CROOKES PRIZE

ESCAMPIG awards the William Crookes prize to a midcareer researcher who has been recognized to have made major contributions on the scientific topics covered by the ESCAMPIG. <u>The ISC is seeking nominations for the prize</u>.

VENUE

The conference will be held on the <u>Campus of the</u> <u>Faculty of Information Technology</u> of the Brno University of Technology (BUT), within easy reach of the center of Brno. The venue is located in the former Monastery of the Carthusian Order, which was founded in 1375. In the Campus historic buildings are sensitively complemented by two new lecture hall complexes.

TRAVEL

Brno has its own airport <u>Brno-Tuřany</u> (BRQ), with regular Ryanair flights to London. Brno can be also reached conveniently from Prague (<u>PRG</u>), Vienna (<u>VIE</u>) or Bratislava (<u>BTS</u>) airports.

IMPORTANT DEADLINES

Abstract Submission: February 28, 2024 Nominations for Crookes Prize: February 28, 2024 Acceptance Notification: April 5, 2024 Early Registration: April 19, 2024



REGISTRATION FEE

The conference fee includes scientific program, welcome reception, conference dinner, excursion, coffee breaks and all lunches during the conference. A limited number of hotel rooms are available for registered participants at special discount rates.

	Early	Late (After April 19)
Regular	530€	580€
EPS Members	510€	560€
Students	380€	430€
	Accompanying BASIC*	Accompanying FULL**
	200€	350€

*BASIC: Includes excursion, accompanying person programme, conference dinner, welcome reception

**FULL: BASIC + coffee breaks, lunches

GENERAL INVITED SPEAKERS

Peter Bruggeman (USA) Declan Diver (United Kingdom) Gabi Daniel Stancu (France) Holger Kersten (Germany) Juraj Országh (Slovakia) Kinga Kutasi (Hungary) Luís L. Alves (Portugal) Lecture of the Crookes Prize winner

WORKSHOPS

- "Advancements in non-equilibrium plasma laser diagnostics" Chairman: Gabi Daniel Stancu (CentraleSupélec, France)
- "Predictive and practical simulations of plasma systems and plasma processes"
 Chairman: Adam Obrusník (MUNI, PlasmaSolve, Czech Republic)

ABSTRACT SUBMISSION

The abstracts of the contributions to the conference should be submitted following the guidelines and the template file that will be available on the conference website. All contributed papers will be reviewed by the International Scientific Committee.

CONFERENCE ABSTRACT

All conference abstracts will be published online in a Conference Book of Abstracts following the conference.

INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE

Chairman: Carlos Pintassilgo (Portugal) Ronny Brandenburg (Germany) Claudiu Costin (Romania) Aranka Derszi (Hungary) Anatoly Filippov (Russia) Victor Herrero (Spain) František Krčma (Czech Republic) Tiberiu Minea (France) Nikola Škoro (Serbia) Eugen Stamate (Denmark) Francesco Taccogna (Italy) Erik Wagenaars (United Kingdom)

LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Chairman: Zdeněk Bonaventura (MUNI) Co-Chairman: Tomáš Hoder (MUNI) Bohumila Tesaříková (MUNI) František Krčma (BUT) Ondřej Jašek (MUNI) Pavel Dvořák (MUNI)

CONTACT

Department of Plasma Physics and Technology, MUNI Kotlářská 267/2, Brno 602 00 Czech Republic Phone: +420 549 493 625 Email: <u>escampig2024@physics.muni.cz</u>



TOPICAL INVITED SPEAKERS

Ana Maria Gómez Ramírez (Spain)

Augusto Stancampiano (France)

Catalin Vitelaru (Romania)

Filippo Cichocki (Italy)

Luca Vialetto (USA)

Marija Puač (Serbia)

Angela Privat Maldonado (Belgium)

Miguel Jiménez Redondo (Germany)